Summer Capsule Menu

Even though we are a home school family, our summers look quite a bit different than the rest of the year does for us.  We spend much more time outside, we are away from home more and Tony’s work schedule changes.

I love how having a capsule menu helps me to keep real food meals on the table for my family, day in and day out, without much thought and effort.  But during the summer, I want a change.  Lighter meals filled with all of summer’s fresh produce.  I want salads instead of soup.  And I don’t want to use my oven!

Here is my school year capsule menu if you are interested.

I have some unique challenges as I plan meals for my family (and I’m sure you do too!).  My husband needs to be nightshade-free and my children can be rather picky; they are more willing to try new things if they can be tried separately.  I also often pack meals for my family to eat someplace other than at home.

IMG_20170109_173737_994

Chicken Ranch Wraps…I like to pack meals separately, then I can personalize sides to match preferences.

Rather than scheduling specific meals to specific days, I’ve listed meals according to categories.  Doing it this way gives me more flexibility to cook according to what I have on hand and according to what our daily plans are.

IMG_20170119_115641_395

Asian Cabbage Salad with Chicken (this is yummy but would be even prettier with tomatoes and colored peppers!)

Here is my Summer Capsule Menu if you are interested.

Do you have a favorite summer salad that is hearty enough for a full meal?  What are your favorite summer meals? Please share!

One thought on “Summer Capsule Menu

Leave a Reply

