Creating a Mission Statement for Your Summer

This is post #2 in the Preparing for Summer series.  See post #1 here.

Last week we began by asking ourselves a few questions.  I want you to begin discovering what a successful summer means to you.

We asked ourselves these questions:

  • What do I want to gain this summer?
  • What do I want to do this summer?
  • What would I consider to be a successful summer?

This week we want to evaluate our answers and use them to come up with a mission statement for our summer.

IMG_20160712_145028_494
Rest, Relationships, Experiences

First, look at your answers.  Can you see anything in common between your answers?  Any general themes?

All of my answers can fall into three categories:

  • Rest
  • Relationships
  • Experiences

Take the themes you seem from your list and write a simple goal or mission statement for your summer.

Mine is:

My mission for the summer is to refresh myself and my family with meaningful experiences that grow our relationships with each other.

IMG_20160620_150435_859
Rest, Relationships, Experiences

Once you have your mission or goal clearly defined, write it out or type it up or somehow make it look nice and place it somewhere where you will see it often (even if just in your journal or planner).  This will serve as a reminder and as motivation.  Because being intentional takes effort.  This will not happen by chance.  It can give us the renewed focus and renewed energy to keep at it when we just want to give up because it seems too hard.

Take a picture of your mission statement and share it on Instagram:(#summermissonstatement @turn2thesimple).

IMG_20160716_110504_647
Rest, Relationships, Experiences

Now that you have clearly defined what you want out of your summer, are you ready to make it happen?  Still confused about how to take your vision from dream to reality?

If writing a mission statement seems hard, on Wednesday I will write about a vacation experience that helped me to see in concrete ways what I wanted for my summer and it helped me to write my mission statement.

We’re just getting started, stay tuned!

Subscribe so you don’t miss a post!

2 thoughts on “Creating a Mission Statement for Your Summer

Leave a Reply

