Herbal Multi-Vitamin Recipe

I believe good health starts with real food…but even with a diet full of real foods our bodies need an extra boost.

I’ve been making a liquid, herbal multi-vitamin for years and have been very happy with the results.   Herbs are plants full of vitamins and minerals…in rations and combinations that are easy for our bodies to use.  Herbs have been used for centuries to promote health and treat illnesses and diseases.  Thanks to the internet a wide variety of herbs are easy to obtain and often inexpensive.

These are the herbs I use in the multi-vitamin I make for my family:

Disclaimer: I am sharing what our family uses.  Do your research and make the best decision for your family.  This is not to be considered as medical advice!
  • Alfalfa contains the vitamins A, C, E, and K; and the minerals calcium, potassium, phosphorous and iron.
  • Nettle contains the vitamins A and B-6; and the minerals calcium, magnesium, potassium and iron.
  • Red Raspberry Leaf contains the vitamins A, B’s, C and E as well as the minerals potassium, calcium, magnesium, manganese, zinc and chromium.
  • Dandelion leaf contains the vitamins A, B-6 and C and the minerals calcium, magnesium, potassium and iron.
  • Spearmint contains vitamins A and C and the minerals calcium, potassium, iron, magnesium and phosphorus.  Spearmint also adds a pleasant taste to your herbal vitamin!

I choose to use organic herbs if at all possible because any herbicides or pesticides used in growing these herbs would be concentrated on the leaves (which is what I am using to make my vitamin tincture).

Herbal Multi-Vitamin Tincture

Place the following in a quart-sized jar:

Pour very hot water over the herbs (I use about 2 cups).  Then, fill the jar the rest of the way with food grade vegetable glycerin.  Let sit for 6 weeks, shaking occasionally.  After 6 week, strain out herb leaves with a mesh strainer and pour into a quart-sized glass jar.

As adults we take 2-3 Tbsp each day.  The kids get 1 Tbsp each day.  Tony and I each drink 1 to 1.5 quarts of green smoothie spread throughout each day (we’d rather drink our greens than eat them!).  So I add ours to our smoothies.  The kids each get a tablespoon in their morning breakfast (usually baked oatmeal or overnight oats). During the winter months I also add elderberry syrup to our smoothies or breakfast.

 

Herbal Vitamin

I order all of my bulk herbs from Vitacost (use this link to get $5 off your first order!)  I also order all of our supplements from Vitacost as well as all my “specialty” Trim Healthy Mama foods, shampoo, lotion, soap, etc.  I like that I have no trouble reaching the free shipping minimum and that my order arrives quickly.  There are also great sales, especially on Vitacost Brand products (often buy-one-get-one for buy-one-get-one-50%-off).

The initial investment for all these supplies can seem rather expensive, but these herbs will last you for a long while.  We use about one quart of herbal multi-vitamin each month, and these herbs last me over a year!  I make up several quarts at once and just strain out the herb leaves as we needed.  This takes just a couple minutes each month.

However, if you don’t want to bother with making it yourself, you can order a similar product from Earthly.

How do you ensure your family gets the nutrients they need?

 

One thought on “Herbal Multi-Vitamin Recipe

Leave a Reply

