The Morning Routine

I used to think that to get enough sleep and be a happy mommy, I needed to sleep as late as I could each morning…This meant not really waking up or getting our of bed until my kids did.  This did not lead to a happier mommy or a more peaceful day…this led to a frazzled mommy that felt as if she was always just trying to catch up!

I love the idea of waking up FOR your day, not waking up TO your day.  I am a happier and more peaceful mamma, and I have a more productive day if I wake up FOR my day and take some time each morning for me (even if I get less sleep).

On Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays my alarm goes off at 5:45 am.  I get up, put my workout clothes on and listen to a podcast while I do my workout.  I’ve been using the MuTu System for about 18 months now and I love it!  My whole body is stronger than it has ever been.  After my workout I wash my face and brush my hair and get my breakfast ready.

img_20161102_063401_168

Love the HIIT for muscle building and cardio in one!

On Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays (and Saturdays if we have something planned for the morning) my alarm goes off at 6:00 am.  I get up, wash my face and do my hair and makeup.  Then I get my breakfast ready.

By 6:30 or 6:35 am each day, I am sitting at the table with my breakfast, coffee and Bible.  I read my Bible for 10 or 15 minutes while I eat my breakfast and then switch to a fiction book.

img_20161102_063543_535

Breakfast and Bible time to fuel my day!

The kids are allowed to come downstairs at 7 am.  Our rule is that they have to stay in their bed and be quiet until 7.  They can lay in bed or look at/read a book if they wake up early.  It took a while and some training, but it has been so worth it!

By 7 am I feel ready to face my day…I’ve taken care of myself and am ready to take care of my family.

What would it mean for you to wake up FOR your day instead of TO your day?

Save

One thought on “The Morning Routine

Leave a Reply

